Caregiver Or Caretaker

Lately I have been struggling  with depression. I may have experienced depression in lighter forms at different parts of my life but never like this. My dad died last September and ever since I have been in somewhat of a fog just stumbling through my life. In this time I have been able to notice how good people can be. I’ve always identified myself as a caregiver and in these times when I am really in need of help others have stepped into that role for me and I am forever grateful.

Even on my worst days I always have a lifeline, a friend to call who loves me and can make me feel better. Wealth to me is not found in possessions or money but in the many amazing people God has allowed into my life. The other night I was missing my daddy and the tears that wouldn’t fall were suddenly everywhere. All I wanted in the world was someone to hold me and make me feel safe in a way my dad can’t anymore. 
I texted one of my friends who I knew would still be awake and minutes later she called me. She told me how amazing I am, how I genuinely care for people and my dad would be so proud of me. She said anyone who ever had a part in making me who I am would be proud.
I am so thankful for her and I hope everyone has a friend who will support them in their weak moments when they need to be told how good they are and that above all else, they are loved.

Leave a Reply

