Encounter STL

I recently wrote this for Encounter a Steubenville Young Adult conference in St. Louis and I thought I’d share it here.image

My name is Sarah Woolhiser, I am a 22 year old currently residing in Cincinnati Ohio. I have been seriously discerning religious life for a year. I ended up at Encounter through my time with the Daughters of Charity and I am so very grateful.

I’ll be honest and tell you that my life does not look very different to an outsider. But who I am at the very core of my being is being dramatically transformed. God has been trying me with fire. Burning away my selfishness and leaving me with love and the desire to seek Him; the desire for true holiness. Encounter literally brought Him to me. At Adoration, Father Mike Schmitz brought the monstrance with the most precious body of Christ not a foot in front of me. Not only did I bawl like a baby, but I felt His love wrap around me and I was safe and warm. “He has put a gladness into my heart, more than when their grain and new wine abound. In peace I will both lie down and sleep for You alone, oh Lord make me dwell in safety.” Psalm 4:7-8

I am on fire with His love and my desire is to give His love to everyone. “It is not enough for us to love God if our neighbor does not love Him also.” Saint Vincent de Paul

Encounter taught me and many other young adults that we are all disciples. It is our responsibility as members of the Church to bring Him to others and bring others into His one flock. I pray that God gives us the strength and the courage to carry out the marvelous plans He has for each and every one of us. I encountered Christ in the people I met at the conference all I had to do was open my eyes. He was there in the prayer huddle. He was there in the small group conversations. He was there in the flesh as we received Him in the Host. He lives in you and He lives in me. Let’s give Him to His people.

Leave a Reply

